Tansania

Tansania

Wir arbeiten seit mehr als zwei Jahrzehnten mit den zukunftsorientierten Gesundheitsbehörden Tansanias, dem Privatsektor und zivilgesellschaftlichen Gruppen an einer Vielzahl von Verbesserungen im Gesundheitssektor. Zu den Aktivitäten gehörten Initiativen zur Verbesserung des Zugangs zu hochwertigen Arzneimitteln durch Apotheken in der Nachbarschaft, die Entwicklung und Verbesserung von Gesundheitsinformationssystemen, um das Management und die Bereitstellung von HIV- und AIDS-Diensten zu verbessern, und die Bekämpfung von Antibiotikaresistenzen.

Nationale digitale Gesundheitsdaten in Tansania

Wir helfen Tansania dabei, sein papierbasiertes Gesundheitsinformationssystem in eine digitalisierte nationale Lösung umzuwandeln, die verspricht, die Patientenversorgung, insbesondere für HIV und AIDS, zu revolutionieren. Um die Patientenversorgung und -ergebnisse effektiv zu überwachen und Behandlungsprogramme zu verwalten, benötigen Gesundheitspersonal qualitativ hochwertige Informationen, die das Gesundheitsdatensystem Tansanias noch nicht liefern kann. Wir arbeiten mit zentralen Gesundheitsministerien und Bezirksgesundheitsministerien in Tansania zusammen, um ein nationales Patientenregister zu entwickeln und einzuführen, das jedem Patienten eine eindeutige digitale ID zuweist. Das Projekt entwickelt auch elektronische Patientenakten, die mit dem Gesundheitsausweis verknüpft sind, und verbessert die Gesundheitsdatenprogramme des Bezirks. Sobald die digitale Überarbeitung abgeschlossen ist, kann sie, unterstützt von den US-amerikanischen Zentren für die Kontrolle und Prävention von Krankheiten, ein Modell für andere Länder mit niedrigem und mittlerem Einkommen sein, die ihre Gesundheitsinformationssysteme auf höchstem Niveau verbessern möchten.

Überblick

Wir unterstützen die öffentlichen Gesundheitseinrichtungen Tansanias dabei, Systeme und Dienste im gesamten HIV-Versorgungsspektrum zu stärken, einschließlich der Digitalisierung von Patientendaten für eine evidenzbasierte Entscheidungsfindung und Stärkung der Humanressourcen für Gesundheit und Qualität der Dienste. Unsere Zusammenarbeit mit dem nationalen TB-Programm zur Einführung eines nationalen elektronischen Quantifizierungsinstruments für TB-Arzneimittel hat zeitnahere, genauere und zuverlässigere Daten zu Lagerbeständen und Patienteneinschreibungen geliefert. Wir unterstützen auch globale Gesundheitssicherheitsaktivitäten, wie die Optimierung des Einsatzes antimikrobieller Mittel und die Stärkung der Infektionsprävention und -kontrolle.

Der Wellcome Trust hebt unsere Arbeit mit Arzneimittelspendern in Tansania hervor, um die Ausbreitung von Antibiotikaresistenzen zu stoppen.
Das Accredited Drug Dispensing Outlet (ADDO) Program, eine öffentlich-private Initiative, bringt lebensrettende Medikamente zu den Menschen, die sie brauchen, und verbessert den Zugang zu lebenswichtigen Medikamenten und pharmazeutischen Dienstleistungen in ländlichen und unterversorgten Gebieten Tansanias.

Tanzania

Tanzania

We have been collaborating with Tanzania’s forward-thinking health agencies, the private sector, and civil society groups for more than two decades on a broad range of health sector improvements. Activities have included initiatives to improve access to quality medicines through neighborhood pharmacy shops, developing and improving health information systems to improve the management and delivery of HIV and AIDS services, and fighting antimicrobial resistance.

National Digital Health Data in Tanzania

We are helping Tanzania transform its paper-based health information system into a digitized national solution that promises to revolutionize patient care, especially for HIV and AIDS. To effectively monitor patient care and results and to manage treatment programs, health workers need quality information—which Tanzania’s health data system is not yet able to deliver. We are working with central and district health ministries in Tanzania to develop and roll out a national patient registry that gives each patient a unique digital ID. The project is also developing electronic health records that link to the health ID and improving district health data programs. Once finished, the digital overhaul, supported by the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, can be a model for other low- and middle-income countries that seek to improve their top-level health information systems.

Overview

We assist Tanzania’s public health institutions to strengthen systems and services across the HIV care spectrum, including digitizing patient data for evidence-based decision making and strengthening human resources for health and quality of services. Our work with the national TB program to adopt a national electronic quantification tool for TB medicines has provided more timely, accurate, and reliable data on stock supplies and patient enrollment. We also support global health security activities, such as optimizing the use of antimicrobials and strengthening infection prevention and control practices.

  1. Resources
  2. News & Stories

Identifying and Addressing Challenges to Antimicrobial Use Surveillance in the Human Health Sector in Low- and Middle-Income Countries: Experiences and Lessons Learned from Tanzania and Uganda

A New Focus for Increasing Access to Sexual and Reproductive Health Products in Africa

Sexual and reproductive health (SRH) products play a vital role in ensuring the wellbeing of individuals in the modern world, particularly women and girls, yet millions of people still lack access to these essential commodities. Resource-constrained countries face multifaceted barriers to accurately anticipating the demand for SRH products and adequately funding their procurement and distribution. In this blog, our President and CEO, Marian W. Wentworth, discusses how MSH is helping countries overcome these and other barriers through innovative financing solutions.

The Wellcome Trust highlights our work with drug dispensers in Tanzania to help stop the spread of antimicrobial resistance.
Getting life saving medicines to people who need them, the Accredited Drug Dispensing Outlet (ADDO) Program, a public/private initiative, is improving access to essential medicines and pharmaceutical services in rural and underserved areas of Tanzania.